Color Running

Earlier this year, I convinced my family to do something I never thought I’d ever do in my lifetime, let alone after brain surgery:

A 5K. (insert audible gasp here)

I’ve pointed out a few things in prior posts, like the fact that I’m overweight and a hermit. Also, the thought of actually walking out my door and driving (in my case, riding) over an hour to a race, just to get out and participate, had sincerely, seriously, never crossed my mind. Maybe once, but I was joking with myself.

I mean, the chances of me ever considering a 5k were right up there, say, my chances of getting a brain tumor.

This new mindset of mine though, it’s a trouble maker. First, there is actual vegetation in our refrigerator now on a regular basis, (beyond the ever present garlic and onions), and now I absolutely shock my family when I mention I want to do a Color Run.

Okay, we’ll be walking. But it’s a goal. You hush now.

When I first learned about Color Runs, about two years ago or so, I’d think to myself, ‘Wow, if I ever ran, that’s something I’d like to do.’ The thought of blazing through all of that colored powder appeals to me in some sort of earthy, strange way, I can’t explain it.

This past winter, Color Run information popped up somewhere I was lurking online, most likely one of those healthier food sites or some such thing, and I took pause. Hmmm….

So I clicked over to their main site. When I did, my thought process went something like this:

Ack, 5k. Ok, you’re allowed to walk. I can walk. And by the time the race is here, and given further healing on my part, I’ll be able to walk better. Kid’ll want to run, but too bad. Because husband will want to walk, too. Hmmm. Ok, a 5k is approximately 3 miles, give or take. The closest race is about an hour or so away…. hmmmm…. Everyone looks like they’re having fun, lovin’ the color and the camaraderie… I have time to ‘train’ (even I took that word lightly in my head)… The sign up fee isn’t awful. Hmmm….

So, I went out to the dining room, and had to warn them about what I was about to say and ask. You know, this was completely out of character for me, after all, and something I’m sure neither of them had entertained at any point, either. To shut me up, To make me happy, my husband agreed, so I registered the three of us and it was a go.

I programmed the Couch to 5k app into my phone, but didn’t use it for a month and a half. It’s how I roll. But, I’m still proud to say I’m starting my 4th week today without missing a day, other than the days off programmed into the app. I should mention here that the Couch to 5k program is a program where you do a warm up, then alternate between walking and jogging for the time allotted. I can’t do this yet. So, I’ve modified what I do. I walk at about 2.5 an hour when it says to walk, and then just walk faster, at about 3.5mph when it says to jog. Jogging isn’t feeling right or good or healthy yet, so I’m allowing myself this. This is quite an accomplishment for me at any stage in my life and I’m pretty happy about that.

I know, that without the 5k app, I would have been able to do (walk) the Color Run, but with it, I feel it’ll be that much easier, and my head’ll thank me during and following the race. It has been warned, after all.

Then I explained it to my Mom:

‘Hey, Ma, I’m doing a 5k.’

‘What’s that?’

‘It’s a 3 mile race, but I’m walking. You can walk. Important for the noggin’ and all.’

‘What for? Tumors? Alzheimer’s? Something like that?’

‘No Ma, just for fun!’

‘Why? Where at?’

‘It’s about an hour away from here. To prove to myself I can, as part of my recovery. Oh, and as you work your way through the race they… throw… colored… powder…. on… you….so you end up a multicolored mess by the time you’re done.’

I knew this was coming. I knew that it would sound completely ludicrous to my monochromatic mother.

‘So, let me get this straight, you guys are going to get ready, drive an hour, walk three miles, have people throw colored s*** all over you, then come home?’

‘Um, yup, pretty much.’ I grinned so hard she must have heard it.

So, chalk this up as another one of the things my mom thinks I’m crazy for doing. What’s new? I’m pretty sure she’s happy that I’m actually able to do anything like this, even if she doesn’t understand it.

I’m adding color to my life, both literally and figuratively. It’ll be a personal triumph for me. Not much to some, but the biggest deal to me, even though I can’t run and shake my head all around.

At least yet.

Leave a comment